Steering Committee

Eva Merkacheva
Chair of the Steering Committee

Eva is a journalist, a writer and a human rights defender. She writes for a Russian newspaper as an investigative journalist in addition to regular broadcasts on radio stations and TV. Eva is famous for her human right activities. Her publications have wide public resonance.

Eva is the author of a book entitled “Crimes and Secrets of Present-Day Russia”.

In 2013, Eva received a national printed press award (“Iskra”) for a publication that achieved the greatest public impact. In 2017, she received “The Golden Feather of Russia” award for a series of publications on protection of convicts.

Nadezda Azhgikhina
Co-Chair of the Steering Committee

Nadezda is a journalist, writer, the director of PEN Moscow, a Trustee of International Board of ARTICLE 19, a Vice-President of European Federation of Journalists in 2013-2019.

She graduated from Moscow State University (Ph.D. in Philology).

Nadezda coordinates international projects on journalists’ rights and freedom of the media, as well as culture and gender. 


Guzel Daukaeva
Member of the Steering Committee

“It is so inspiring to see how much can be done with the power of words. Those who are not afraid to use this power in search for truth deserve to be heard and recognized by the world community.”

Natalya Valkina
Member of the Steering Committee

“I admire real journalists who stop at nothing in their search for truth and justice. Being a part of FJA team is a noble mission, that opens new vistas and provides a unique opportunity to touch history.”