Online Events and Meetings

Webinar "Journalism Up Against the State"

FJA Series of webinars to support independent journalists and news media

July 27th, 2023

Learn more


"Secrets of investigative journalism: Can Dündar and award-winning reporters tell their story"

July 19th, 2021

Learn more

 

Investigative Journalism Checklist

Ethics: respect core values of journalism – accuracy, impartiality, independence, humanity and responsible reporting

Sources: fact-check the information you receive; avoid being manipulated by those with other agendas and always pay special attention to the risks taken by whistle-blowers.

Safety: no story is worth your own life or that of a source. Always inform colleagues and trusted friends of your actions and your whereabouts. Prepare for and assess the risks you might face from the people you are investigating.

Security: Protect yourself from surveillance. Safeguard your information. Use technology wisely. Never open an online link that you have never heard of. Your phone can be a friend or a malicious spy for others.

Solidarity: Support colleagues who are working in the same fields. Share information and encourage collaboration with people you can trust.

Collaboration: there are many important and useful networks for investigative reporters at national, regional and international level. Use them for working on joint projects and they can help with funding opportunities.

Trusted partners: work with media organisations and community groups that are committed to public interest journalism and avoid those that have a specific political, corporate or cultural agenda.

Investigative Journalism Useful Links

All of the issues on the investigative journalism checklist are covered by media support organisations who can provide useful information and contacts.

Here is a list of groups supporting investigative journalism in almost 50 countries, provided by the Global Investigative Journalism Network:

https://gijn.org/investigative-journalism-organizations/

Ethics and treatment of sources

Ethical Journalism Network: www.ethicaljournalismnetwork.org

Poynter Institute: https://www.globaleaks.org/investigative-journalism-tricks-of-the-trade-yale-poynter-fellowship-in-journalism/

Media support groups

Global Forum for Media Development: https://gfmd.info/investigative-journalism/

Free press unlimited: https://www.freepressunlimited.org/en/current/investigative-journalism-unmasking-truth

Thomson Foundation: https://www.thomsonfoundation.org

Safety and Security

International News Safety Institute https://newssafety.org/home/

Committee to Protect Journalists https://cpj.org/

Dart Centre for Journalism and Trauma https://dartcenter.org/

Reporters Without Borders https://rsf.org/en

Advice and professional solidarity

International Federation of Journalists https://www.ifj.org/ 

Global Editors Forum https://wan-ifra.org/world-editors-forum/

International Press Institute https://ipi.media/

International Centre for Journalism https://www.icfj.org/

 

International Women's Media Foundation  https://www.iwmf.org/

Pen International https://pen-international.org/

The global network defending and promoting free expression IFEX https://ifex.org/

Article19 https://www.article19.org/

ICIJ, International Consortium of Investigative Journalists https://www.icij.org/

The European Centre for Press and Media Freedom (ECPMF) https://www.ecpmf.eu/

Arab reporters for Investigative Journalism https://en.arij.net/

Peace News Networks https://peacenews.com/

General Secretariat International Association of Press Clubs https://pressclubs.org/

European Journalism Observatory (EJO) https://en.ejo.ch/observatory

Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism https://reutersinstitute.politics.ox.ac.uk/

IWPR, Institute for War & Peace Reporting https://iwpr.net/

Global Forum for Media Development (Brussels) https://gfmd.info/

Human Rights Watch https://www.hrw.org/